About the Blogger

IMG_2410

Hi, I’m Nicole, and I write this blog.

I became a missionary kid at twelve years old, when my parents, four younger siblings, and I moved to Ukraine. In thirty-five years, I’ve lived in three countries and six cities and have travelled to at least fourteen countries.

Now I’m a social worker and a missionary in L’viv, Ukraine with my husband and three kids. We’re part of a church plant, and we focus on discipling believers and showing love to our community.

This blog is about missionary life.

A friend once asked me to share about my perspective as a missionary wife and mom. So often we hear more about the husband’s experience on the field. She asked me what makes life more challenging for a wife and mom here in Ukraine than it was in America…what does my daily life look like.

I began blogging about the comical, mundane, incredible experience of being Mama on the mission field. And as I did that, I realized – there are peculiarities to my life, for sure. But in all honesty, many of my joys, challenges, heartaches, and excitement are similar to those experienced by Christians all over the world – the same things you experience every day.

And so, I have two goals for this blog. One is to tell you what it’s really like for us to be missionaries on a foreign field. And the second is to encourage – or amuse – you in your daily life by sharing my own experiences and reflections.

My goal is to post once a week. Right now I’m taking a break as I prioritize raising and educating our three small kids, but I hope to get back to writing soon.

Subscribe by email so that you don’t miss new posts!

If you’d like to get to know my writing, here are some of my top posts:

When Josh said to me, “It’s cancer.”

How do you know it’s “the one?”

I’m not as brave as you think.

Other Sites I’ve Written For

A Life Overseas: The Missions Conversation – When a Third Culture Kid Goes “Home”

Her View From Home – Some Days, Motherhood is Just Trying to Make it Till Bedtime

and Dear Daughter, You Don’t Have To Be a Wife and Mama

Djibouti Jones – Strong in the Broken: When Cancer and Life Collide 

Scary Mommy – 10 Essentials for Your Mom Survival Kit

tempImageLpk0nt

Contact Information

I’d love to hear from you! Please be sure to comment on blog posts. You can also reach me by email or on Facebook.

3 thoughts on “About the Blogger

  1. Hi, my name is Angie Klarke and I am a friend of Janell Benjamin who attends Calvary Chapel of Stroh, Indiana. She gives me updates on missionaries supported by her church and I pray for them. I have been praying for your family. It would be nice if I could get emails from you directly so I can pray more effectively.

    Like

    1. Hi Angie. Thanks so much for commenting and for praying! We so appreciate the support. Did you recently follow our blog via email? I saw an address that looked like your name. If so, you will receive weekly blog posts in your email. If you would like, I can also add you to our periodic newsletter list.

      Like

      1. My friend Janell had forwarded your blog information to me.
        You may add me to your newsletter list also.
        Thank you for serving the Lord!

        Like

Leave a comment